Many users ask if they will lose their data upgrading.... short answer is NO, absolutely not.
The settings are stored in the AppData folder under the Windows user account; and are not deleted during an update.
When you upgrade Tag That Photo, you will first do a complete uninstall of the previous version, and then reinstall. As mentioned above there is no data loss during this process.